Policy Forum for Wales Keynote Seminar: Realising Wales' energy potential - innovation, regulation and building investor confidence

Timing: Morning, Thursday, 14th July 2016

Venue: Park Inn Hotel, Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH

Agenda subject to change

12.55 - 13.00



8.30 - 9.00	Registration and coffee
9.00 - 9.05	<u>Chair's opening remarks</u> Professor Nicolas Pidgeon, Professor of Environmental Risk, Cardiff University
9.05 - 10.10	Wales at the forefront: case studies of innovation Professor Nicolas Pidgeon, Professor of Environmental Risk, Cardiff University Chris Williams, Development Director, Tidal Energy Simon Marshall, Key Accounts Director for Small Modular Reactors, Westinghouse Kevin Bygate, Chief Executive, SPECIFIC Questions and comments from the floor
10.10 - 11.05	The realities of achieving Wales' energy potential: prioritising, planning and implementation Tony Thickett, Director of Wales, The Planning Inspectorate Ceri Davies, Executive Director for Knowledge Strategy and Planning, Natural Resources Wales Kee Evans, Senior Associate, Eversheds Mike Pedley, Head of Energy, Dwr Cymru Welsh Water Questions and comments from the floor
11.05 - 11.10	Chair's closing remarks Professor Nicolas Pidgeon, Professor of Environmental Risk, Cardiff University
11.10 - 11.40	Coffee
11.40 - 11.45	Chair's opening remarks Glyn Davies MP, Member, Energy and Climate Change Committee, House of Commons
11.45 - 12.15	Regulation, innovation and growth Charles Hargreaves, Associate Director, Renewable Electricity, Ofgem Questions and comments from the floor
12.15 - 12.55	Building investor confidence in Wales' energy market Roland Schulze, Managerial Advisor, Low Carbon Energy Technology, European Investment Bank Dr Peter Zhang, Managing Director, SinoFortone Adam Baddeley, Head of Energy, Eunomia Research & Consulting Questions and comments from the floor

Chair's and Policy Forum for Wales closing remarks

Peter van Gelder, Director, Policy Forum for Wales

Glyn Davies MP, Member, Energy and Climate Change Committee, House of Commons